The International Award
 Print    [+]  [-]

What is the Duke of Edinburgh Programme?

A Duke of Edinburgh Programme is a real adventure from beginning to end. It does not matter if you are not athletic or academic. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24 and know there’s more to life than sitting on a sofa watching life pass you by.

The best bit is - you get to choose what you do!

Your programme can be full of activities and projects that get you buzzing, and along the way you will pick up experiences, friends and talents that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

The Levels:

You can do programmes at three levels, which when completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh's Award.

You achieve your Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four sections (five if you are going for Gold) - Volunteering, hysical, Skills, Expedition and, for Gold, a Residential.

You will find yourself helping people or the community, getting fitter, developing skills, going on an expedition and taking part in a residential activity (Gold only).

Duke of Edinburgh Guide Booklet